Eleven former Gators added to Spurrier’s AAF roster

Florida coach Steve Spurrier

Football fans who wish that the season would never end are in luck this year, as the Alliance of American Football (AAF) League kicks off on February 9, 2019.

Perhaps the most prominent name to be hired by the league as a head coach was Florida legend Steve Spurrier. The former Heisman trophy winning player and national championship winning coach will take the reigns as head coach of the Orlando Apollos.

As players were recently added to AAF rosters, it was determined that eleven former Florida Gators will be playing football for head coach Steve Spurrier. Those Gators include:

QB Austin Appleby

RB Kelvin Taylor

RB Mark Herndon

WR Frankie Hammond

DE Earl Okine

DT Leon Orr

LB Ronald Powell

CB Joseph Putu

DB Josh Evans

DB Will Hill

LS Drew Ferris

Home games for the Orlando Apollos will be played at Spectrum Stadium.

These former Gators will take the field for their first game on February 9. The AAF league features eight teams across the United States. 12 regular season games will be played.

An AAF champion will be decided after four teams face off in the playoffs, with the championship game planned for Las Vegas in April, 2019.

Get breaking Gator news – Sign up for email alerts below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *